Panvel student alleges assault by PT teachers @ St. Joseph School (State board)

28/01/2012 17:33

Parents of a Class 9 student at St Joseph School, Panvel, have demanded the dismissal of two physical training (PT) teachers alleging that the duo assaulted their son Ankush Pandey, 14, on Friday. According to the parents, the teachers – Pravin Pantangle and Nadeem Shaikh – allegedly beat up their son even after he apologised for screaming outside a classroom and disturbing students.

 

On Friday night, the parents registered a non-cognisable complaint at the New Panvel police station. “We are investigating the role of the two PT teachers,” said G Kardile, police sub-inspector. On Tuesday, the parents met school principal Sayeeda Javed demanding that the teachers be suspended.

Javed remained unavailable for comment and did not respond to text messages sent by HT. KC George, the school administrator, also declined to comment.

According to Ankush’s father, Anil Pandey, Ankush and his classmate were loitering outside the classroom and started yelling while the lecture was going on. “The class teacher then asked the two PT teachers to talk my son,” said Anil.

“I apologised to the PT teachers. But they held me by the collar and started punching me in my chest. They also threatened that if I complained to my parents about the incident they will have me removed from the school,” claimed Ankush.

Ankush has not attended school since the incident took place on Friday.

“When I returned home from work on Friday, Ankush complained of chest pain and started vomiting. Only after I coaxed him that he narrated what had happened in school. I was totally shaken,” said Anil.

 

“I apologised to the PT teachers. But they held me by the collar and started punching me in my chest. They also threatened that if I complained to my parents about the incident they will have me removed from the school,” claimed Ankush.

Ankush has not attended school since the incident took place on Friday.

“When I returned home from work on Friday, Ankush complained of chest pain and started vomiting. Only after I coaxed him that he narrated what had happened in school. I was totally shaken,” said Anil.

Anil alleged that when his son was getting examined at a local hospital, the PT teachers called on his mobile phone asking for an immediate meeting. “The two teachers came to my house at 10.30pm and threatened that if we approached the police, my child would be removed from the school,” said Anil.

Patangale, one of the teachers, denied the allegations. “I did not beat up any child. I visited the parents since I wanted to apologise.” On Saturday, more than 20 parents gathered outside the school demanding an explanation from the principal. “We have written a letter demanding the removal of the two PT teachers. We have not got any assurance,” said Jitendra Tiwari, secretary of the Parent Welfare Association.

Meanwhile, Ankush’s parents have requested the school to allow him to resume classes from February 4. “My child is studying in the school since ten years and nothing of this sort has happened. He is a bright child scoring more than 88%,” said Anil.